The Tribe Has Spoken

Your best source for Tribe sports

  • Recent Performances

    Chris Ray-8/16 @ NYY-2 IP, 2 hits, 1 BB, 1 save
  • Bill Bray-8/18 vs. PHI-2 IP, 3 hits, 1ER, 1 BB, 2 K
  • Curtis Pride-8/15 @ TEX-1-1, run scored
  • Ray save counter

    28

W&M Media Day-Linebackers

Posted by thetribehasspoken on August 12, 2006

The strong point of the defense this season when it comes to depth and skill will be the linebackers. With the McLaurins, Josh Rutter, T.J O’Neill, and Chris Ndubueze, this will be very strong LB crew this season. I got a chance to talk to Chris Ndubueze, Josh Rutter, and Trevor and Travis McLaurin.

Travis McLaurin on his season expectations

“Just to come back healthy for a whole season instead of half, and contribute to the team as much as I can in any way possible.”

Travis McLaurin on the expectations for the LB’s as a whole

“To be leaders out there, and go to practice and lead defensively, and use the experience to our advantage.”

Trevor McLaurin on how he made the offense to defense switch so successfully

“I had great coaching, and a lot of help from my teammates and I felt I had the athleticism to make the switch, so it wasn’t too hard, I just had to get used to seeing the ball from the defensive side as opposed to the offensive side.”

Josh Rutter on how he will follow up this season after leading the team in tackles

“We’re going to have a real solid team, everbody is going to get a lot of playing time, so I just want to contribute to the team however I can, and play to the best of my abilities, and hopefully I don’t let the coaches down.”

Rutter about all the LB’s returning this season

“I think we’re going to be a real solid core, or unit. We have enough guys to make 2 starting rotations because we have a ton of talent there. I think we are going to look to the linebackers for leadership on the defense since we have a lot of guys returning this year, a lot of experience there, so I think we will be a real solid unit this year.”

Chris Ndubueze on his expectations for this season

“I’m optimistic, excited for a lot of new things, we have the new field, we’re playing Maryland, it’s really exciting, it’s my last year so I’m really looking foward to it.”

Chris on the new field

“It’s looks great, it feels great, it’s a combination of grass and turf, the best of both worlds.”

Chris on the Maryland game

“I expect a lot, I’m going back home, I’m from Maryland so I’m playing against some friends, playing in front of some friends and family. I played in MD’s stadium my senior year for our championship game, and it’s a great atmosphere, so I’m really excited, it should be a good game.”

Chris on our chances vs. MD 

“I definitely think we can beat them, I think we can beat everybody, but it’s about believing in the coaches, and trusting them to go get us prepared, and showing up and giving effort, that’s what it’s all about”

Tomorrow is the defensive backs, with Derek Cox.

Leave a Reply

 
