The Tribe Has Spoken

Your best source for Tribe sports

  • Recent Performances

    Chris Ray-8/16 @ NYY-2 IP, 2 hits, 1 BB, 1 save
  • Bill Bray-8/18 vs. PHI-2 IP, 3 hits, 1ER, 1 BB, 2 K
  • Curtis Pride-8/15 @ TEX-1-1, run scored
  • Ray save counter

    28

W&M Media Day-Receivers

Posted by thetribehasspoken on August 9, 2006

The receiver position should be strong this year with SR. tight end Matt Trinkle, wide recievers Joe Nicholas, D.J. McAulay, and Elliot Mack. I got a chance to talk to Matt Trinkle and Joe Nicholas about the upcoming season.

Joe Nicholas on the loss of Josh Lustig

“He was a great reciever and knew the offense really well. He really showed us younger guys the ropes. It’s obviously a huge loss since he had so much experience playing-wise and just knowing the game, being around it his whole life. He showed us as much as he could and it will be a big loss but we have a lot of younger guys that will step up and do a real good job.”

Joe Nicholas on the new field

“I’m hoping it will help us, I’m obviously not the fastest guy, but I hope it will give us the extra step. I worked out on it at my high school all summer. It feels nice, I love it, I like it better than the grass, I’m just more comfortable.”

Joe on the Maryland game

“I’m excited about it. It’s always nice to play that big team, you feel like a superstar in front of 40 or 50 thousand people. We’re just going to go out and use it as a bar to see where we are individually and as a team. Everyone expects them to beat us, everyone expects their players to be a lot better than we are, so it’s a good test to see where we will be for the rest of the season”

Matt Trinkle on the field turf(has a different view than everyone else)

“I personally liked the grass, but in the long run it doesn’t make much difference. It is nice, but I prefer the grass”

Tomorrow is O-Line and Cody Morris.

Leave a Reply

 
